CoSA Awards Program

Rising Stars

The Rising Star Awards acknowledge outstanding contributions by individual staff members or teams to their state archives and constituencies.

Nomination Forms, Procedures, and Selection

Any organization or individual is invited to nominate an organization, person(s) or program(s). Nomination of oneself or one's organizations is permissible and encouraged.

All nominations are submitted via email and must include the following items:

  • CoSA Awards Nomination Form
  • Essay addressing the criteria listed by discussing the accomplishments and ongoing work of the nominee.
  • Letter(s) of support from at least one person familiar with the nominee's work and/or at least one CoSA member.
  • Supporting materials may be submitted and may include nominees' resumes or biographies, illustrations of work products and promotional materials, press releases, press clippings, and other related materials.

Email one complete nomination packet to Barbara Teague, CoSA Executive Director.

An Awards Committee, appointed by the President and comprised of at least one Board member and two CoSA members, will review the nominations and select the recipients.

2021 Nominations, Selection, & Presentation Schedule

April 12, 2021: Deadline nominations - Midnight Eastern Time

By May 10, 2021: Award recipients notified

August 18, 2021: Awards presented at CoSA Business Meeting

Award Recipients


  • Kate Telford, Rhode Island State Archives


  • Elena Perez-Lizano, New Mexico Commission of Public Records


  • Sidney James Irby, Georgia Archives


  • Massachusetts Archives, Simmons College, and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissions, for their collaboration on the Massachusetts Municipal Clerks Archival Education Program


  • No honoree selected


  • Library of Virginia's Governor Timothy Kaine E-mail Project Team, for being the first state government archives to make emails of a previous gubernatorial administration freely available online


  • Susan Laura Lugo, US Virgin Islands Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums
  • Beth Shields, Kentucky State Archives
  • Rachel Trent, State Archives of North Carolina