CoSA-Ancestry Leadership Award

CoSA-Ancestry Leadership Award

Ancestry logo

With the generous support of Ancestry™, the Council of State Archivists undertakes its strategic plan commitment to facilitate next generation leadership development by providing up to $1,000 reimbursement for individuals or $2,000 reimbursement for groups of mid-level managers in state and territorial archives to help develop their professional potential and prepare for advancement.

Nomination Forms, Procedures, and Selection

Any organization or individual is invited to nominate an organization, person(s) or program(s). Nomination of oneself or one's organizations is permissible and encouraged.

Nominations are submitted via email and must consist of the following, submitted as one PDF document:

  • CoSA-Ancestry™ Leadership Award Nomination Form
  • Essay (up to two, typed pages) describing the nominee’s leadership goals, articulating why the nominee’s training/development choice(s) will further their leadership capacity, and how new skills will be used.
  • A detailed budget (no more than 1 page). Nominations that do not include a detailed budget will not be considered. In the budget, include all costs, not just those covered by the award.
  • Letter of Support from the CoSA member at the nominee’s archives describing the leadership potential of the nominee or group and expectations about the impact of the chosen training or development program.
  • Supporting materials include nominee’s resume or bio highlighting leadership roles; illustration of a work product resulting from the nominee’s leadership, and any related materials.

Email one complete nomination packet as a single PDF to Nominations must be received by November 8, 2021, midnight eastern.

An Awards Committee, appointed by the President and comprised of at least one Board member and two CoSA members, will review the nominations and select the recipients.

2022 Nominations, Selection, and Presentation Schedule

  • November 8, 2021: Deadline for 2021 CoSA-Ancestry™ Leadership Award nominations, Midnight Eastern Time
  • May 9, 2022: Notification of CoSA-Ancestry™ Leadership Award recipients
  • September 2022: 2022 CoSA-Ancestry™ Leadership Award recipients make presentations to members at the annual CoSA Work Session in Nashville, September 26-28

Award Recipients

Two award recipients posing with their awards.

James Watson and Cathrine Giles
Recipients of a 2018 Ancestry Leadership Award


  • Kathryn Baringer, Maryland


  • Sarah LeClaire, District of Columbia
  • Layce Johnson, Idaho


  • Cathrine Giles, Kentucky
  • James Watson, Maryland


  • Zachary Jones, Alaska
  • Ali Rahmaan, District of Columbia


  • Jim Kichas, Utah
  • Abbie Norderhaug and Sarah Grimm, Wisconsin


  • Kelly Eubank and Jeremy Gibson, North Carolina
  • Karen Gray and Chris Hieb, Alaska


  • Dorothy Davis, Alabama