Resource Center

Open Archival Information System Reference Model 

05-28-2021 03:23 PM

The Open Archival Information System (OAIS) Reference Model describes the functions and services required to preserve and maintain access to digital information over time. While not a model for implementing a digital archives, the OAIS identifies and defines shared terminology and concepts used by the digital preservation community. The OAIS describes seven essential functions of a digital archives: Ingest, Archival Storage, Data Management, Administration, Preservation Planning, Access, and Common Services. In the OAIS model, three external actors interact with the digital archives: Producers submit content to the archives, Consumers use content from the archives, and Management sets policy for the archives. Finally, the OAIS defines the Information Packages managed by the digital archives. Producers transfer Submission Information Packages (SIPs) to the archives; the archives manages and preserves Archival Information Packages (AIPs); and Consumers access Dissemination Information

URL for Resource:

Formal Name/Title (ISO, ANSI): ISO 14721:2012

Alternative Name/Title: OAIS

Standards Creating / Publishing Body: ISO

Alternate / Free Version URL: Magenta Book 2012

Date of Creation: 2002

Date of Latest Revision: 2012, reviewed and approved in 2018

Cost: 224 Swiss Francs (approx)

Current Version (Color, Name, Number): ISO 14721:2012

Associated SERP Framework Element: Designated Community, Governance, Strategy

Date Resource Added/Modified: May 24, 2018


0 Favorited

Related Entries and Links

No Related Resource entered.

The inclusion of any resource in the CoSA Resource Center does not imply a recommendation or endorsement of the resource by CoSA. Any views or opinions presented in the resource comments are solely those of the author and do not represent the views and opinions of CoSA