WebSTAT - Free Web Statistics
Council of State Archivists (CoSA)
Search Site

 

Directory of
State and Territorial Archivists
and Records Managers

 

Updated October 15, 2014

ALABAMA

Links to:
State Archives

Steve Murray, Director
Alabama Department of Archives & History
PO Box 300100
Montgomery, AL 36130-0100
Telephone: 334-242-4441; Fax: 334-240-3433
steve.murray@archives.alabama.gov

Tracey Berezansky, Assistant Director for Government Records
Telephone: 334-242-4452
E-mail: tracey.berezansky@archives.alabama.gov


ALASKA

Links to:
State Archives

Dean Dawson, State Archivist
Alaska State Archives
Department of Education & Early Development
141 Willoughby Avenue
Juneau, AK 99801-1720
Telephone: 907-465-2276; Fax: 907-465-2465
E-mail: dean.dawson@alaska.gov


AMERICAN SAMOA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

James Himphill, Territorial Archivist
Dept. of Administrative Services
Office of Archives and Records Management
American Samoa Government
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Telephone: 684-699-6848 ext. 5148; Fax: 684-699-6849
E-mail: James.Himphill@la.as.gov


ARIZONA

Links to:
State Archives

Melanie Sturgeon, Director
History and Archives Division
Polly Rosenbaum Archives and History Building
1901 W. Madison
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Telephone: 602-926-3720; Fax: 602-256-7982
E-mail: msturgeon@azlibrary.gov


ARKANSAS

Links to:
State Archives

Lisa Speer, Director
Arkansas History Commission
One Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
Telephone: 501-682-6900; Fax: 501-682-6916
E-mail: lisa.speer@arkansas.gov


CALIFORNIA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Nancy Zimmelman Lenoil
Director, Archives Division, and State Archivist
California State Archives
1020 O Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: 916-653-0401; Fax: 916-653-7134
E-mail: nlenoil@sos.ca.gov

Rebecca Wendt, Deputy State Coordinator
Telephone: 916-651-8420
E-mail: rwendt@sos.ca.gov


COLORADO

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

George F. Orlowski, State Archivist
Colorado State Archives
1313 Sherman Street, Room 122
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: 303-866-2329; Fax: 303-866-2257
E-mail: george.orlowski@state.co.us

CONNECTICUT

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Kendall Wiggin, State Librarian
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: 860-757-6511; Fax: 860-757-6542
E-mail: kednall.wiggin@ct.gov

Lizette Pelletier
State Archivist
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: 860-566-1100 x304
E-mail: lizette.pelletier@ct.gov

LeAnn Power, CRM
Public Records Administrator
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
Telephone: 860-757-6540; Fax: 860-757-6542
E-mail: leann.power@ct.gov


DELAWARE

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Stephen Marz, State Archivist and Director
Delaware Public Archives
Hall of Records, 121 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Dover, DE 19901
Telephone: 302-744-5049; Fax: 302-739-8436
E-mail: stephen.marz@state.de.us

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Clarence Davis, Public Records Administrator
DC Office of Public Records
Executive Office of the Mayor
1300 Naylor Court, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Telephone: 202-671-1108; Fax: 202-727-6076
E-mail: clarence.davis@dc.gov


FLORIDA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Gerard Clark, Bureau Chief
Archives and Records Management
Division of Library and Information Services
Florida Department of State
Department of State, The Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
Telephone: 850-245-6639; Fax: 850-245-6744
E-mail: Gerard.Clark@DOS.MyFlorida.com


GEORGIA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Christopher M. Davidson, Director
The Georgia Archives
5800 Jonesboro Road, Morrow, GA 30260-1101
Telephone: 678-364-3714; Fax: 678-364-3859
E-mail: cdavidson@sos.ga.gov

Anne Smith, Assistant Director for Public Services
Telephone:  678-364-3718
E-mail: ghrab@sos.ga.gov


HAWAII

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Susan E. Shaner, State Archivist
Hawaii State Archives, Iolani Palace Grounds
Honolulu, HI 96813
Telephone: 808-586-0310; Fax: 808-586-0330
E-mail: susan.e.shaner@hawaii.gov

IDAHO

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

David Matte, Acting State Archivist
Idaho State Archives/Manuscripts
Idaho State Historical Society
Merle Wells State Archives Building
2205 East Old Penitentiary Road
Boise, ID 83712
Telephone: 208-334-2620; Fax: 208-334-2626
E-mail: david.matte@ishs.idaho.gov

Duane Bogstie, Records Management Supervisor
Department of Administration
Bureau of Copy and Records Services
5327 Kendall, Boise, ID 83706
Telephone: 208-327-7060; Fax: 208-327-7062
Email: duane.bogstie@adm.idaho.gov

Carter L. Wilson III, Deputy State Coordinator
5558 West Harborcove Lane
Boise, ID 83703
Phone:208-853-8739
E-mail:wilsoncl6@msn.com


ILLINOIS

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

David Joens, Director
Illinois State Archives Office of the Secretary of State
Norton Building, Capitol Complex
Springfield, IL 62756
Telephone: 217-782-1083; Fax: 217-524-3930
E-mail: djoens@ilsos.net

Elaine Shemoney Evans, Deputy Coordinator
Telephone: 217-782-2226
E-mail: eevans@ilsos.net


INDIANA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Jim Corridan, Director and State Archivist
Indiana Commission on Public Records
IGCS W472, 402 W. Washington St., Room W472
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Telephone: 317-232-7191
E-mail: jcorridan@icpr.in.gov


IOWA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Anthony Jahn
State Archivist
State Historical Society of Iowa
600 East Locust
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone: 515-281-4895; Fax: 515-282-0502
E-mail: anthony.jahn@iowa.gov

Jeffrey L. Dawson, C.A.
Deputy State Archivist
State Archives of Iowa
600 East Locust Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Telephone: 515-281-7801
E-mail: jeffrey.dawson@iowa.gov


KANSAS

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Patricia Michaelis
Director, Library and Archives Division
Kansas State Historical Society
6425 SW 6th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66615-1099
Telephone: 785-272-8681, ext. 270; Fax: 785-272-8682
E-mail: pmichaelis@kshs.org

Matt Veatch, State Archivist
Kansas State Historical Society
Telephone: 785-272-8681, ext 271
E-mail: mveatch@kshs.org


KENTUCKY

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Barbara Teague, State Archivist and Records Administrator
Director, Public Records Division
Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
P.O. Box 537, Frankfort, KY 40602
Telephone: 502-564-8300, ext. 249; Fax: 502-564-5773
E-mail: barbara.teague@ky.gov

Beth Shields, SERI Steering Committee Co-Chair
Telephone: 502-564-8300, ext. 247
E-mail: Beth.Shields@ky.gov


LOUISIANA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Florent Hardy, Jr., State Archivist and Director
Louisiana State Archives
PO Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
Telephone: 225-922-1200; Fax: 225-922-0433
E-mail: florent.hardy@sos.la.gov

Virginia Smith, Deputy Coordinator
P.O. Box 517
St. Francisville LA 70775


MAINE

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

David Cheever, State Archivist
Maine State Archives State House
Station 84
Augusta, ME 04333
Telephone: 207-287-5793; Fax: 207-287-5739
E-mail: david.cheever@maine.gov

MARYLAND

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Edward C. Papenfuse, State Archivist
Maryland State Archives
350 Rowe Boulevard, Annapolis, MD 21401
Telephone: 410-260-6401; Fax: 410-974-3895
E-mail: mdarchivist@maryland.gov

Timothy Baker, Deputy State Archivist
Maryland State Archives
Telephone: 410-260-6402
E-mail: tim.baker@maryland.gov

Michael Swygert, Administrator
Department of General Services
Records Management Center
7275 Waterloo Road
P.O. Box 275, Jessup, Maryland 20794
Telephone: 410 799-1930      
E-mail: michael.swygert@dgs.state.md.us


MASSACHUSETTS

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

John D. (Jack) Warner, State Archivist
Massachusetts Archives at Columbia Point
220 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125
Telephone: 617-727-2816; Fax: 617-288-8429
E-mail: john.warner@state.ma.us


MICHIGAN

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Sandra Sageser Clark, Director
Michigan Historical Center
702 W. Kalamazoo, Lansing, MI 48909-8240
Telephone: 517-373-6362; Fax: 517-241-3647
E-mail: clarkss@michigan.gov

Mark Harvey, State Archivist
Telephone: 517-373-1415
E-mail: harveym@michigan.gov

Brice Sample, CRM
Director, Records Management Services
Department of Technology, Management and Budget
3400 N. Grand River Ave., PO Box 30026
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Telephone: 517-335-9450
E-mail: sampleb@michigan.gov


MINNESOTA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

D. Stephen Elliott
Director, Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Blvd. West, St. Paul MN 55102-1906
Telephone: 651-259-3102
E-mail: steve.elliott@mnhs.org

Patricia A. Gaarder
Deputy Director, Historic and Education Programs
Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Blvd. West, St. Paul MN 55102-1906
Telephone: 651-259-3110
E-mail: pat.gaarder@mnhs.org

Shawn Rounds, State Archivist
Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Blvd. West, St. Paul MN 55102-1906
Telephone: 651-259-3265; Fax: 651-296-9961
E-mail: shawn.rounds@mnhs.org


MISSISSIPPI

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Katie Blount, Director
Mississippi Department of Archives and History
P.O. Box 571
Jackson, MS 39205-0571
Telephone: 601-576-6856; Fax: 601-576-6975
E-mail: kblount@mdah.state.ms.us

Julia Marks Young
Director, Archives and Records Services Division
Telephone: 601-576-6991; Fax: 601-576-6975
E-mail: jyoung@mdah.state.ms.us


MISSOURI

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Jason Kander, Secretary of State
PO Box 778
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Telephone: 573-751-2379; Fax: 573-526-4903

John Dougan
State Archivist
Office of Secretary of State, Missouri State Archives
600 West Main Street, PO Box 1747
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Telephone: 573-751-4717; Fax: 573-526-7333
E-mail: john.dougan@sos.mo.gov

Brian Rogers
Principal Assistant for Boards and Commissions
Missouri State Archives
600 West Main P.O. Box 1747
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1747
Telephone: 573-526-1981
FAX: 573-526-7333
E-mail: brian.rogers@sos.mo.gov


MONTANA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Jodie Foley
State Archivist
Montana Historical Society
225 North Roberts, PO Box 201201
Helena, MT 59620-1201
Telephone: 406-444-7482; Fax: 406-444-5297
E-mail: jofoley@mt.gov

Patti Borsberry
Deputy, Records and Information Management
Office of the Secretary of State
1320 Bozeman Street
Helena, MT 59601
Telephone: 406-444-9009; Fax: 406-444-9002
E-mail: pborsberry@mt.gov


NEBRASKA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Gayla Koerting, State Archivist
Nebraska State Historical Society
PO Box 82554, Lincoln NE 68501
Telephone: 402-471-4783
Email: gayla.koerting@nebraska.gov

Cathy Danahy
Deputy Secretary of State for Records Management
440 South 8th Street, Suite 210
Lincoln, NE  68508
Telephone: 402-471-2745; FAX: 402-471-2406
Email: cathy.danahy@nebraska.gov

Mary Ott, RIM Specialist
Nebraska Secretary of State's Office
Records Management Division
440 South 8th Street, Suite 210
Lincoln, NE  68508
Telephone: 402-471-4184; Fax: 402-471-2406
Email: mary.ott@nebraska.gov


NEVADA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Daphne DeLeon, Administrator
Nevada State Library and Archives
100 North Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4285
Telephone: 775-684-3315; Fax: 775-684-3311
E-mail: ddeleon@admin.nv.gov

Jeffrey M. Kintop, State Archivist
Nevada State Library & Archives
Telephone: 775-684-3410; Fax: 775-684-3371
E-mail: jkintop@admin.nv.gov

Peter Michel
Director, Special Collections, UNLV Libraries
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7010
Telephone: 702-895-2243; Fax 702-895-2253
E-mail: pmichel@ccmail.nevada.edu


NEW HAMPSHIRE

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Brian Nelson Burford, State Archivists and Director
NH Division of Archives and Records Management
71 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: 603-271-2236; Fax: 603-271-2272
E-mail: Brian.Burford@sos.nh.gov

NEW JERSEY

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Joseph R. Klett
Chief of Archives
New Jersey State Archives
225 West State Street, P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
Telephone: 609-292-9507; Fax: 609-292-9105
E-mail: joseph.klett@sos.state.nj.us

Ellen R. Callahan
Collection Manager
Deputy Coordinator of the NJSHRAB
New Jersey State Archives
Telephone: 609-292-1570
Fax: 609-292-9105
E-mail: ellen.callahan@sos.state.nj.us


NEW MEXICO

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Linda Trujillo, Acting State Records Administrator
New Mexico Commission of Public Records
1205 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, NM 87507
Telephone: 505-476-7912
E-mail: LindaM.Trujillo@state.nm.us


NEW YORK

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Thomas J. Ruller, Interim State Archivist
New York State Archives
Room 9D46, Cultural Education Center
Albany, NY 12230
Telephone: 518-473-7091; Fax: 518-473-7058
E-mail: truller@mail.nysed.gov

Kathleen Roe
Director, Archives and Records Management Operations
New York State Archives
Room 9D46, Cultural Education Center
Telephone: 518-473-4254; Fax: 518-402-5372
E-mail: kroe@mail.nysed.gov


NORTH CAROLINA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Dr. Kevin Cherry, Deputy Secretary
Office of Archives and History
Department of Cultural Resources
4610 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-4610
Telephone: 919-807-7282; Fax: 919-733-8807
E-mail: kevin.cherry@ncdcr.gov

Sarah Koonts, Director
Division of Archives and Records
North Carolina State Archives
Dept. of Cultural Resources
4614 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4614
Telephone: 919-807-7339; Fax: 919-715-7274
E-mail: sarah.koonts@ncdcr.gov


NORTH DAKOTA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Ann B. Jenks, State Archivist
State Historical Society of North Dakota
612 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505-0830
Telephone: 701-328-2090; Fax: 701-328-3710
E-mail: ajenks@nd.gov

NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS

Links to:
Territorial Archives

 

Christopher R. R. Todd, Territorial Archivist
Director Library Programs & Services
Northern Marianas College
P.O. Box 501250
As-Terlaje, Saipan MP 96950
Telephone: 670-237-6799
E-mail: christopher.todd@marianas.edu


OHIO

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Fred Previts, CA
State Archivist
Government Services
Ohio History Connection
800 East 17th Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 43211
Telephone:  614-297-2536; Fax: 614-297-2546
Email: fprevits@ohiohistory.org


OKLAHOMA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Jan Davis, Administrative Archivist
Oklahoma Department of Libraries
200 NE 18th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Telephone: 405-522-3191; Fax: 405-522-3583
E-mail: jdavis@oltn.odl.state.ok.us

OREGON

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Mary Beth Herkert, State Archivist
Archives Division Office of the Secretary of State
800 Summer Street NE, Salem, OR 97310
Telephone: 503-373-0701
Fax: 503-373-0953
E-mail: mary.e.herkert@state.or.us

Dan Cantrall, Deputy SHRAB Coordinator
Electronic Information Manager
Telephone: 503-373-0701 ext 247
Fax: 503-373-0953
E-mail: daniel.e.cantrall@state.or.us


PENNSYLVANIA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

David W. Shoff, Interim Director
State Archives Division
Pennsylvania State Archives
Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission
350 North Street, Harrisburg, PA 17120-0090
Telephone: 717-783-5796
E-mail: dshoff@pa.gov


PUERTO RICO

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

[position vacant]
General Archivist of Puerto Rico
Instituto de Cultura Puertorriqueña
Archivo General de Puerto Rico
P.O. Box 9024184
San Juan, P.R. 00902-4184
Telephone: 787-725-1060
E-mail: archivogeneral@icp.gobierno.pr


RHODE ISLAND

Links to:
State Archives

 

R. Gwenn Stearn
State Archivist and Public Records Administrator
Rhode Island State Archives
337 Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Telephone: 401-222-2353; Fax: 401-222-3199
E-mail: gstearn@sec.state.ri.us

SOUTH CAROLINA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Eric Emerson, Director
South Carolina Department of Archives and History
8301 Parklane Road, Columbia, SC 29223
Telephone: 803-896-6187
E-mail: eemerson@scdah.state.sc.us


SOUTH DAKOTA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Chelle Somsen
State Archivist
South Dakota State Historical Society
900 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501-2217
Telephone: 605-773-5521; Fax: 605-773-6041
E-mail: chelle.somsen@state.sd.us

TENNESSEE

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Wayne Moore, Assistant State Archivist
Tennessee State Library and Archives
403 7th Avenue North, Nashville TN 37243-0312
Telephone: 615-253-3458; Fax: 615-532-5315
E-mail: wayne.moore@state.tn.us

Jami C. Awalt
SHRAB Secretary and
Deputy State Historical Records Coordinator
Tennessee State Library & Archives Nashville, TN 37243-0312
E-mail: jami.awalt@state.tn.us
Phone: 615-253-3470


TEXAS

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Jelain Chubb, State Archivist
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
1201 Brazos Street, PO Box 12927
Austin TX  78711-2927
Phone: 512-463-5467
Email: jchubb@tsl.texas.gov


UTAH

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Patricia Smith-Mansfield, Director
Utah State Archives and Records Services
P.O. Box 141021
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1021
Telephone: 801-531-3850
E-mail: pmansfie@utah.gov

John Koerner
Administrative Services Manager
Utah State Archives and Records Services
Telephone: 801-531-3865
E-mail: jkoerner@utah.gov


VERMONT

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Tanya Marshall, State Archivist
Vermont State Archives and Records Administration
1078 US Route 2 Middlesex
Montpelier, VT 05633-7701
Telephone: 802-828-0405 ; Fax: 802-828-3710
E-mail: tanya.marshall@sec.state.vt.us

Scott Reilly, CA
SHRAB Coordinator
Archivist III
Vermont State Archives and Records Administration
Telephone: 802-828-2207
E-mail: scott.reilly@sec.state.vt.us


VIRGIN ISLANDS Susan Laura Lugo, C.A.
Assistant Director/Territorial Archivist
Government of the Virgin Islands
DPNR/Division of Libraries, Archives and Museums
4607 Tutu Park Mall
St. Thomas, VI  00802
Telephone: 340-774-0630
Email: susanlauralugo@gmail.com

VIRGINIA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

 

Sandra Gioia Treadway
Librarian of Virginia and State Archivist
Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, Virginia  23219-8000
Telephone: 804-692-3535
E-mail: Sandra.Treadway@lva.virginia.gov


WASHINGTON

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Steve Excell
State Archivist
Washington State Archives
1129 Washington Street, Olympia WA 98504
Telephone: 360-586-2664; Fax: 360-664-8814
E-mail: steve.excell@sos.wa.gov


WEST VIRGINIA

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Joe Geiger, Director
West Virginia Archives and History
The Cultural Center
1900 Kanawha Blvd., East Charleston, WV 25305
Telephone: 304-558-0230 x164; Fax: 304-558-2779
E-mail: Joe.N.Geiger@wv.gov

WISCONSIN

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Matt Blessing
Director, Library-Archives Division
Wisconsin Historical Society
816 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608-264-6480
E-mail: matt.blessing@wisconsinhistory.org


WYOMING

Links to:
State Archives
SHRAB

Michael Strom
State Archivist
Division of Cultural Resources
Department of State Parks and Cultural Resources
2301 Central, Cheyenne WY 82002
Telephone: 307-777-7020
E-mail: michael.strom@wyo.gov